What does CONCEALED actually mean?

I am in PA. I can’t find anything that actually explains what Concealed actually means. If I have a holster outside the waist but you can see the bump of the weapon does this count as concealed?

10 Likes

If all parts of a firearm are covered, it is concealed. If it is “printing “ through your clothes it is still concealed. Printing may or may not be an offense depending on your location.

In my state of Nevada, we have open carry, so if your concealed gun is printing, no one really cares much.

At least that’s my interpretation but I’m not a lawyer so take it at face value.

BTW welcome to our community

12 Likes

I have found that most states don’t explicitly define it in statute. And, come to think of it, it might be difficult to define. I also don’t think it should need defining because open and concealed carry should both be lethal without a permit, but, that’s a different story.

From a practical perspective, my opinion is that concealed means nobody has an articuable reason to suspect that it is there. The way I use the word concealed, visible or obvious “printing” is not, because observant people (such as criminals) can infer that it’s there.

If you are looking for the legal definition as you are carrying somewhere concealed is legal but not-concealed is illegal, my definition is worthless.

6 Likes