Silly Question? Please Help!

Hello All!,

I’m new to the USCCA community and I have a question that seems to be unanswered.
I have talked to the State Police and County and some say yes it’s totally legal and others say it’s not legal but I have yet to find the law here in Maryland preventing me from carrying a pellet gun.

okay so, I live in a pretty nice neighborhood and my wife and I walk through trails every once in a while.

I would like to know if I can conceal carry a high powered pellet gun OR a something like a Byrna HD https://byrna.com. ,which is a pepper OC ball gun and not a firearm. I live in Maryland and in Maryland it is extremely hard to obtain a CCW even with a clean criminal record!!!. I do have plenty of shotguns , SIG 9mm, full auto firearms etc for home defense. Allot of times people in my neighborhood or the next neighborhood over let their pitbulls loose without a leash and it’s frustrating, I don’t want to kill their dogs but I have been bitten twice!, I have a SIG X5 pellet gun which is roughly 500fps, it’s pretty powerful for a .177 pistol and at close range (15feet or less) it definitely can do some real damage. I know it may be a little silly to some but I would carry ONLY for self defense and attacks. Thank you for your assistance and information, any help is greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

Neighbor in VA here. I disarm every time I come into MD just to be safe. Needless to say… I dont visit MD much :smiley:

I can’t say whether or not a pellet gun or the Byrna is legal to conceal (paging @Dawn and maybe @MikeBKY ?) in Maryland.

However, I would recommend (if its legal) carrying pepper spray (spray, not gel) instead of something you have to aim like a pellet gun or the Byrna. Dogs are small, fast moving targets, even at the best of times hitting one would be tough. Even harder if they are charging you.

Also, I would 100% report a dog that bit a person to the police.

4 Likes