Refreshing Your Cleaning Supplies?

We’ve had numerous discussions about how often to clean our firearms, how many rounds we shoot between cleanings, how to clean a new firearm and more.

There are numerous great brands of cleaning supplies to help you keep your firearm in tip-top shape. Using a quality product is worth the investment for ensuring your firearm will operate exactly AS you need it to exactly WHEN you need it to.

How often do you have to replace your cleaning supplies?

Specifically, how often do you replace the brushes and fluids?

3 Likes

I haven’t had to yet. A side benefit of cleaning only when necessary, I suppose. I tried gun scrubber and a few CLP products without satisfaction and ended back on Hoppes cleaner and their oil.

4 Likes

At least twice a year ( every 6 mos.) I replace my oil and lubricant. I can go a while with brushes, patches and cleaning rags. Bore snakes you can go a while with.

4 Likes

I’ve been shooting for 15 months only. I’ve been testing a lot of cleaning supplies to find the “perfect one”… so probably no need for replacement for next 2 years :face_with_hand_over_mouth:
(I do not consider this as hoarding) :wink:

UPDATE: nylon brushes - still OK after 15 months (original brush and toothbrush), brass brush - every 6 months

5 Likes

Have you found “The one” yet?

2 Likes

Yes, I have.
Barrel - Hoppe’s 9 Bore Cleaner (for really bad, dirty barrel - J-B Compound)
Cleaner - first run - Hoppe’s Elite Cleaner, second run - Hornady OneShot
Lube/protection - Eezox to wipe cleaned parts and finish outside the firearm
Lube/anti friction - G96 Liquid Grease

Hornady OneShot cleaner cleans so great that the firearm looks like brand new. It also evaporates quickly, leaving light protective film so works great in sear / hammer area.

6 Likes