Only in California could the victims be charged with assault

8 Likes

We knew this was coming. :roll_eyes:

11 Likes

Unfortunately Brother it isn’t just californicator anymore.
The wheels of the wicked are churning up ground all over this great country.
These (2) poor souls are just the next one’s thrown under the bus.

8 Likes

So the guy was minding his own business, stealing cigarettes for freedom of expression, therapy through a difficult time in his life, and was viscously attacked out of the blue.
Yep, victim :thinking::crazy_face::rofl:

10 Likes

yes something like that

6 Likes

All he needed was a Black Lives Matter T-shirt

7 Likes

I’m not a lawyer but it is my understanding that in most places in the US the use of potentially deadly force to protect property is not allowed. Doing so may well place yourself in legal and civil jeopardy.

In this particular case I believe the store employees have a solid legal defense because the thief not only threatened to use deadly force a couple of times but at one point pulled out what appeared to be a knife before deciding to put it back. Therefor he presented an imminent deadly threat to the employees and other customers. Though that may not be enough of a defense to keep charges and civil suits from being filed in an anti self defense state like CA. Even in a non anti self defense State the chances for facing legal and/or civil consequences are much greater than zero.

Either way from both a legal and safety perspective the employees took on significant risk by acting forcefully to detain the thief. What if he had a firearm and decided to use it or pulled the knife and started slashing? Would be nice if LEOs were able to rapidly respond to incidents like these and prosecutors would get these criminals off the streets so citizens didn’t feel the need to take such big risks to protect themselves, their customers and their ability to financially support their families.

5 Likes