New Ar-15 Odd Caliber Help!

With the current shortage on sport rifles lol im looking for a new ar15 style to hunt with. Here is the issue i cant find a 223 or 556 and want a bigger round for whitetail deer. I dont have alot of experiance with other caliber ammo. Whats a popular caliber on the lesser expensive side if there is one. I can get a ar15 in .450 bushmaster BUT only 1 maker of ammo, they dont feed always reliably i have heard etc. Id like something that i can use a 20 round mag with minimal as well.

4 Likes

.308 possibly, which in an AR platform is an AR10.

5 Likes

Since C-Productcs fixed the ammo hitch in the 7.62X39 Ar 15 platform magazines I see no reason to not go that route. I had a 6.8SPC and I found it wanting on Virginia Whitetails which on average are 130 lbs. I reasoned that for a walking around the woods gun why not go on the platform I had been training and using for 10 years.

The AR-47 package covers a lot of ground and this year I was quite pleased with mine in up close shooting as well as a fair distance across the field. I double tapped a deer at mebby 15’ and she ended up another 10" from there, she did hit a tree head on tho. I tapped a buck at roughly 265 yards, he stagger stepped and fell over. That said no boolits recovered as all were through and through, the buck had an impressive wound cavity and exit wound. The doe, well she never knew what hit her in the back of the head.

Cheers,

Craig6
I hunt from “Oh $h!t close to across the field” and I am NOT about the trailing game thing. Outdoor sportsusa.com has a decent AR-47 but since Covid they have gone up about $100 because they do not include the bolt assy in their kits any more. AK ammo is cheap most days and performance rounds can be had as well as reloading.

Cheers,

Craig6

4 Likes

@J.WoodSr .308 or 7.62x39 would meet your needs, I have only positive things to say about either caliber. Stick with the common calibers. :+1:

4 Likes