AR caliber confusion - So many choices

Hey AR owners,

I have been looking around online and trying to research some AR options and it’s pretty obvious… There is a TON.

I am fairly new to USCCA and the AR world. I am only in my early 20’s and have only fired two AR’s with only a handful of rounds each, not even a full mag. I am in the process of becoming a LEO in the Midwest. I have never been lucky enough to go hunting, but am really hoping to get the chance going forward and going a lot in the coming years. Hunt for really anything; deer, hogs, or other medium game.

I say all of that to ask for a little help in distinguishing some caliber options to avoid and some to really lean into and study. I highly value home defense and as stated above I want to be able to hunt. I want a solid AR caliber that works great for all. I have done quite a bit of research on multiple calibers lately and do understand that I could always fall back on the standard .223/5.56. I just fell like I want something else more for the hunting aspect and I want to be able to reach out a little further.

A little I have learned so far:
– .224 Valkyrie sounds great in theory, great range and ok energy out at some crazy high distance numbers. But it has too many problems still with the rounds that they are separating from the jackets as they travel down the barrel and I am not changing barrels after 2000 rounds like is typical.

– 6.8 SPC is possibly the new US Military round, but it seems many people think it is a step down compared to the 6.5 Grendel. Also, the ammunition seems to be hard to get and you need to make sure the barrel is a 6.8 SPC II or the tolerances aren’t good. Just seems a hard choice being it is so new, but it could pop off and really flood the market if the military does go with it.