Mini Shells for HD Shotty?

I am wondering if anyone who has a Home Defense shotgun has tested out any mini shells.

I currently have not, so I have no experience with them, but I am curious. A buddy of mine keeps his HD Shotty loaded with mini shells, but he has not actually tested them out to even see if they will feed properly. He took the advice from a friend of a cousin who knows somebody whose Dad has a friend who…Well, you get the picture.

I have advised my buddy to go out and shoot them to see what they will do. Will they feed? Will they pattern correctly? what is the recoil like? He has not, to my knowledge, done any of this and is still completely in the dark in regard to how the shells function. He just took someone’s advice and loaded up. He isn’t too bright.

I have also seen that Mossberg has come out with a variant of their 590 which is built to use mini shells. Seems logical if it was built for that type of shell, it should function correctly.

All I have used in my HD Shotty, A Remington 870 Tactical, are 2 3/4 and 3 inch shells in 00 Buck, #4 Buck, Foster Slugs and a few Remington Accu-tip slugs. I don’t know if a mini shell will even feed properly.

What are your thoughts?

3 Likes

I have not purchased, acquired, or tested mini shells. And I have zero intention of ever doing so.

Regular ‘full size’ shells are what is known, available, proven, and what almost every shotgun was designed to function with. A shotgun isn’t my go-to for home defense but I do have a couple setup such that they could be used this way and I am comfortable, should that be the firearm I reach for or end up with, that having 5-8 shells of 2 3/4" buck in the shotgun plus at least four more on a side saddle will result in ammo count not being a limiting factor…and capacity is the only possibly upside I can see that might draw a person to mini shells for HD

5 Likes