How many rounds do you need in storage to go to the range? and when you go how much ammo do you typically go through?

I like to have 150 at my house at the least not counting self defense rounds. I shoot 200 at the range. After that my arms,hands,eyes get tired and i feel like im not doing much good after that.

8 Likes

I buy 1000 rounds at a time for each caliber I shoot. I buy another 1000 rounds when I have gone through half of the previous batch. Normally I only shoot 100 rounds per range trip.

12 Likes

I buy 1000 round boxes (the best deal). Usually I keep 2000 rounds at home.
Single Range visit -> 350 - 400 rounds.

7 Likes

It seems i am buying my ammo wrong… Im going to look into 1000 rounds . Thank you thats a big help!

7 Likes

That’s pretty much my approach, too.

7 Likes

Find what’s comfortable for your wallet, bulk is best price!
Never get below half tank, you never know when a governmental pandemic might occur.
When I started training approximately 400 rounds weekly per handgun 240 rounds per rifle. Now, because I’m better, older and budget cuts, only 198 rounds handgun, 90 rounds rifle weekly. Have an extra 100 rounds per on hand in the event wife needs alone time :grin:
I love being on the range rain or shine, 105 degrees or 30 degrees.

8 Likes

In general I don’t buy ammo, I load it. New platforms/calibers may get loaded ammo in advance of developing a load. When I go to the range I just grab a “can” from my ready service reloaded ammo. Bunker stocks don’t get touched. I recently scored a couple thousand 230gr FMJ’s for 45 as well as some 62gr 5.56 boolets and a box or three of 208 AMAX’s along with a couple more pounds of various powders. I’m good with primers for now. Oh, also scored 2800 45 ACP cases and made a new connection for all things brass. I’m pretty sure that I could stack them wide and deep if the Zombies came.

Cheers,

Craig6

8 Likes