Dummy rounds

I have been taking some training classes. The last one focuses on Jams and malfunctions. I wanted to do some at home training and have been looking into getting some dummy rounds but there are a bunch of different brands. Are they all the same or do some work better then others? Thank you

2 Likes

I use these. They’ve been holding up quite well.

ST Action Pro 9mm Action Trainer… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HQSR6LO?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

8 Likes

They are just solid plastic. Most brands are fine. Dummy rounds go beyond jam training, but also expose “flinch”.

8 Likes

Welcome back @jbuell4186 . I have all kinds of dummy rounds and don’t recall their brand. I’ve started to get the cheapest ones I could find because some of the prices on these were ridiculous IMO.

2 Likes

I second ST Action Pro 9mm.
I’ve been using them for 3 years, they are still in great shape.

3 Likes

I’ve got a friend who reloads and casts his own bullets. He made a dozen or so dummy rounds for me with some non-jacketed lead bullets. I filled the primer pockets with silicone and loaded them into a marked dedicated magazine for dry fire.

Obviously I’m always double sure I insert the correct mag (base painted with green nail polish) before commencing my dry fire practice.

4 Likes

That was my issue…
I used to have ammo without powder and primers and loved it. The same weight and size made drills so realistic.
But I found it too dangerous for me and too easy to make stupid mistakes that I stopped using them.
Perhaps I’m overreacting…but I saw too many failures with realistic looking dummy ammo and my imagination doesn’t allow me put myself in danger.

3 Likes