DIY Fiber optic sights

I have several EDCs that over time have collected dust in the stock sights. I was thinking of drilling out the stock sights and slipping fiber optic rods in their place. I don’t have the cash hanging around to buy new front and rear sights on all my handguns. Has anyone ever done this? Any thoughts? I’m a professional fabricator so doing it (with proper tools and expertise) would be easy. Just curious if anyone has done this. Thanks

2 Likes

What sights are you using now? If you have fiber optic now, there is nothing to do, just replacing fiber rod.
Making fiber optic from regular sights doesn’t make any sense, because the fiber won’t catch enough light.

3 Likes

I don’t see that it would be impossible with the correct tools. My eyes have problems with the standard white dot sights common from the factory. What I do is clean out the front sight dot, take a toothpick and drop a dot of fluorescent paint in the front dot, and black out the rears with the same method. $3 in paint fixes all your sights, and the fluorescent paint works better in lower light than the white dots IMO.

2 Likes

I was thinking I would drill through the factory sights to allow light to hit the forward side and illuminate them.

I thought of glow in the dark paint. Except it would also get dusty and have to be cleaned a lot. I have a “Dirty Job” as a fabricator so dust and dirt are everyday. I was thinking fiber rods would stay visible. And I already have them.
Thanks

3 Likes

I would machine through the top as well to create a window for the rod to gather light.if you just drill straight through, I don’t think the rod would be as visible due to the limited area exposed to light.

4 Likes