CCW in Indiana

I’m new to the family of conceal carry so I’m trying to learn everything I can about being a responsible person but I’m curious about others opinions on if I was to get stopped by law enforcement for say speeding and I’m carrying and even though Indiana is a no duty to inform wouldn’t it be in everybody’s interest to tell that officer that I am and tell that officer the location of my firearm ? I know several would say it’s up to the individual but being there is more younger officers in the field now and they seem more uptight than the more experienced and older police officers. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

4 Likes

My instructor suggest we keep our CCL card buried/ covered in our wallets. Suggested not offering. I assume he is in the know.

2 Likes

I am surprised that this was not discussed in your CC class. No, you are not required, as you stated you do not have have “a duty to inform”. However, as the officer will know that you are a CC holder when you are pulled over, it is polite to mention that you have a CC permit/license, that you are/are not carrying, location of firearm, and how he/she would like to proceed. This topic has previously been discussed on several or more threads in this community. Here is one thread. I used the query “duty to inform” and there is a long list of threads for you to peruse.

1 Like

@Carl102 Welcome to the family brother so glad you came. As it has been said, you do not have to inform if you do not what to, they know from running your plates before they even stop you. As for me I have gotten stopped in many states for going over the suggested speed limit. I always have given my EHCP and they all has just said they do not need it and thanked me for standing up for my 2A rights.

2 Likes

Thanks to everyone that has replied to my question. I’m glad I joined the forum , I’ve read a lot of useful things on here.

2 Likes