Building an AR for my father in a different state

Hello,

My father lives in a retirement community in Arizona with his state of residence being South Dakota. He likes the two AR’s I built for my personal use and now he wants me to build him one.

Questions:

1. Can I build one in Virginia and how would I transfer it to him with the above residency issue?
  2. Could he purchase a firearm in Arizona being that he lives there but his residence is South Dakota or would it need to be transferred to an FFL in South Dakota?

Thank you,

Brian

I am not a lawyer, so take the following with a grain of salt. Perhaps @MikeBKY can offer a little more help? A gun store in AZ near your father might also be a good source of info.

Your father’s legal possession of an AR would depend on where he is when he has possession of it. If he is in Arizona, then all Arizona rules apply. South Dakota rules only apply when he is in South Dakota.

If he intends on staying in AZ for a while he should probably change his state of residence.

Virginia (for now!) doesn’t have any limits on what you can build. As far as I know, I don’t think Arizona does either.

So if you build the rifle in VA, you can ship it to him in Arizona. But it has to be shipped to an FFL in AZ where he would need to do a background check to pick it up. You could also drive it yourself over there and just hand it to him, but that sounds exhausting. The FFL will have him fill out a 4473(?) as part of the check, so his state of residence may cause an issue there but I don’t think so. The few times I’ve seen that as a concern is for handguns not rifles (weird, I know) because you can’t buy handguns as an out of state person. You can ask at a gun store (who can also help you ship it) how that might go.

His possible issue is the same as above. The background check/4473 requires photoID and AZ law may limit out of state purchase. Again, AFAIK it is usually only an issue for handguns, but I’m not up to date on AZ laws.