Basic Carry Laws: Pennsylvania | CCW Gun Laws | USCCA

Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in the Keystone State below.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at

This statement: “A purchaser must be at least 18 years old to buy a handgun.” is not correct. One must be at least 21 to purchase a handgun in Pennsylvania.

The correct information can be found on this USCCA page.

Yes 21 for handgun 18 for long gun. Federal and State Laws
So you can own a handgun 18 years or older, but you cannot purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer.
You must be 21 and older. PA Law.