Banning Apps

Hi,
I read this news article just now. I’m no constitutional lawyer, but would love to hear from some (or the armchair variety like me)… @MikeBKY

Commerce Department Announces TikTok Ban – NBC10 Philadelphia

It sure seems to me like Mr. Trump is headed for another impeachment hearing. Is it legal to make these kinds of bans??

1 Like

What is your constitutional concern regarding this? Is it on the basis of the first amendment? What you are seeing is not unprecedented. Apps like TikTok are based in China, and really all he is doing is banning a foreign company from doing business in the US. There is a long list of companies that are not allowed to do business in the US for various reasons, some of which overlap with why TikTok looks like it will be banned.

10 Likes

It seems to me that we all shake our heads in disapproval of China’s censorship and trade bans. And it seems more like Mr. Trump is trying to punish the Chinese (and Americans who use these apps … not me, but I believe people should be able to use whatever software they want)… Trying to mimick that to “stick it to the chinese,” if that is what it is, is childish, immature, and exactly what I’d expect from him.

1 Like

Are you aware of why these apps are being banned? Are you aware that these apps have already been banned in other countries for exactly the reasons Trump is banning them? This is more than just trying to “stick it to the Chinese.”

9 Likes

If TikTok is truly Spyware and pose a threat to our national security, why not?

5 Likes

lol, i doubt it. And if it’s spyware, so is whatever is running at Equifax. Direct from the hands of the government and banks to the credit bureaus, and then directly into the hands of actual bad people.