5.53 or .223 Ammunition, Which rounds are good for both plinking and home defense?

Hi everyone it’s been a while since I posted.

I just got my first custom built AR-15 Rifle and while I have some experience with rifles from the Marine Corps I never had a choice in the type of ammunition used. I need something where the ammo is less likely to go through much drywall in a home defense situation since I live in an area with a lot of people in a close vicinity and after seeing a few videos with 380 failing to expand properly and over penetration on drywall I would feel more comfortable using my rifle a home defense situation.

So question is what ammo either 5.56 or .223 is best for in home defense?

2 Likes

All depends. Do you have a lot of land and are far from neighbors? .223 or 5.56 ball or hollow point. Crowded metro suburb, I would look for a frangible ammo (something that breaks apart when striking an indoor wall) in either load (BTW make sure your rifle is chambered in .223 Wyld or 5.56 before using 5.56). 5.56 has more power, so better at longer ranges than .223. Personally for indoor use I prefer a shotgun or pistol. Thought about using an AR, but I am more proficient with a pistol or shotgun. Perhaps their are others that have a better suggestion…

4 Likes

@Christopher_S1 Thanks for your reply, I live in an urban setting with apartments. So I don’t have a lot of land. My rifle is made for 5.56 which in my understanding means it can also take .223. I’m concerned about multiple attackers since drug dealers have been threatening people and the police won’t do much since they say they need to see it or we need to record it for them. I stay away from trouble but have a family to protect as well.

7 Likes