Using Weapon Mounted Lights as Flashlights

Yes there was the big issue here of the officer not keeping their finger off the trigger. Or perhaps they let something else hit the trigger while moving the obstacles? But I think this is a good example of why having a separate flashlight is a very good idea.

11 Likes

IMO a handheld flashlight is mandatory, and a WML (pistol) is entirely optional (concealed carry)

I could see the LE argument for both being mandatory.

6 Likes

Fascinating. Agree with both of you.

I rarely see an officer with a weapon mounted light. But every officer I see has a dedicated flashlight. Makes me wonder if this officer had a separate hand held light or not. Why was his gun out if not to use the light?

5 Likes

When I was an NYPD officer the department never issued or authorized WML on duty or back up firearms. Times have changed. If I were a cop now I would never use my WML as a flashlight. If you have a WML with high lumens you can actually point the gun towards the ground in the vicinity of the target and be able to identify it.

I agree 100 percent with this :point_up_2:

9 Likes

I just purchased a WML for my EDC M&P
WOW Welcome to 2024 Don!
It doesn’t fit any of my holsters. It’s an off-brand from
Amazon–Green Laser and Light (it’s nice actually) Cheap $30
But I put it on my Taurus G3c instead–My dedicated End table Gun
@ night. My Smith has XS night sites, very sharp and that’s all I need
for right now. To each his own I guess< I like the separate Flash, that’s
what I was Trained on.

Mi dos Pesos

3 Likes