Transporting Rifles Across Various States Lines

This is my first time in 2020 carrying my rifles from Colorado to my second residence in Houston, TX. Usually 2 AR-15’s and my AR-10 .308. Both pistols on us and 2 backs. I’ve traveled this many times in the past Houston-Denver Subs before moving here permanmently never had any issues but with everything going on in 2020 I had to take my thought process to USCCA CommUNITY to pick anyone’s brain…

Thanks in advance USCCA CommUNITY!!!

1 Like

Try out the USCCA CC map in your dashboard.

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/co-gun-laws/

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/tx-gun-laws/

4 Likes

Ah forgot USCCA had these available. Now the challenge is reading the jargon written laws…

Appreciate the feedback. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

@rwsisson In general interstate transportation is driven by Federal law, which essentially states keep the guns in cases out of the people compartment and separate from the ammo. If you don’t have secure separate storage (ie: pickup truck) then the ammo and guns need to be separated and not easily accessible. Other than that you only have to worry about transiting locations that specifically ban your particular rifle but there is prior litigation that would support the “transport through” but it will cost you legal fees and such if you get hemmed up.

Cheers,

Craig6

3 Likes