Special Treatment

As an Army Veteran I have never consider about getting special treatment or have perks cause of my service.
I guess as a LEO there are perks. So the occasional over look if the LEO is speeding without his lights on, allow to carry his firearm in gun safety areas when off duty, and even get a free meal at a local restaurant. I get that.
But for me as an Army Veteran that is a Iraq War Veteran I have never ask or use my service to get me anything. NOW I do get some free meals and deals on 11/11.
My thought is that, because of our current position or past position, is it ok to have those perks and apply them. My problem is that I do not agree using them to break the LAW.
I am not hating on anyone or group, I am just observing a trend due to having perks.
Thanks for letting me get this off my chest…

13 Likes

I agree. :+1:

7 Likes

I know your feels, Johnny_F. When I got out in '92 (Dessert Shield/Dessert Storm era) the public sentiment was not very conducive to being a Veteran, and for the longest time I didn’t even have the Veteran’s Endorsement on my Driver’s Liscence. I hasn’t been until recently, like the last three or four years, that I have been more inclined to ask for the discounts.

Many larger retailers have discounts for Veterans and some of them even have parking slots for Veterans. Lowe’s, for example. 10 percent discount and a parking slot. Not Home Depot. Discount, Yes, but no parking spot I have seen. Lowe’s is closer anyway.

My Wifey and I also have our favorite restaurants we go to which offer discounts. One restaurant in particular does not have a corporate policy for discounts, but the Manager has put the message out to his staff that all Veterans, Law Enforcement, First Responders, Medical Professionals all get 10 percent discounts.