Shaking Hand(s) with my VP9

I have been shooting for about 4 months now. I have watched so many videos on proper grip. However, I have noticed that, every once in a while, my shot placement is not that tight and my hands are shaking a little. If I loosen my grip a little, I don’t feel that I have good control over the recoil and a little loose under the tang. Is there any skills I can practice to eliminate the minor shaking? Please advise. Thanks

5 Likes

I’ll give my 2 cents until more knowledgeable people pipe in…

It could be a few different things. If anything but a death grip opens your shots, I might suggest trying a couple things (I’m generalizing and will suggest disregarding my opinions if a more experienced shooter disagrees):

1. Stronghand placement - The strong hand should be as high as possible on the tang without getting slide bite. ALSO, after placing the hand as high as possible, twist your palm so that the bottom of your palm (and therefore wrist) is inline with the grip.

2. Offhand Placement - The off hand should be pressing against the pistol towards your strong hand side.

3. Steady and consistent squeezing of the trigger - I’m afraid if I tell you my trigger technique that it might not be the right way, but I squeeze through the break instead of stopping at the break and starting a secondary squeeze. Dry fire with snap caps might help you with this, as it could also be related to finger dexterity. Dry firing with snap caps can also help show if your trigger squeeze is pulling your shots off target (that’s another discussion).