New. Sig P320RX Compact

I am a Marine Corps veteran, however, have not fired a weapon since I got out in 1975. My expertise was using an M14 and M16 along with other weapons. I trained briefly with a 45 pistol, however, never used one. I have been familiarizing myself with my new Sig and have a question. When I rack the slide it locks back rather than releasing. I then have to use the slide release for it to be ready to fire. I feel like I am using enough force to hit my shoulder and not holding on. What am I doing wrong? I am going to take a training class within the next month or two.

4 Likes

Check your grip hand to make sure your thumb isn’t pushing the slide lock up?

4 Likes

Some pistols have a slide lock and not a slide release. Maybe you should check your grip and make sure you are not coming in contact with it when you rack the slide. I kinda agree with @CMBTVT. Are you testing this with an empty magazine loaded in the well because that will also make your slide stay back in the locked position.

5 Likes

I have been testing with an empty magazine. The magazine is inserted, however, is not loaded. I figured there is no sense inserting a loaded magazine unless I am going to be firing the weapon. If I am understanding you correctly the fact that the magazine is empty would cause the slide to lock back? Thanks for your help.

5 Likes

@OSUONE. thank you for your service to our great country :us:

7 Likes

Thank you for your service brother and god bless you.

5 Likes

@OSUONE. That is what @Johnnyq60 is advising. An empty magazine will cause the slide to lock back. The slide cycles with a loaded magazine after each round is fired. After the last round is fired, the slide will lock back. If the empty magazine is removed then you will be able to rack the slide without it locking back.

6 Likes

Welcome @OSUONE and thank you for your service sir!

5 Likes