MCK Micro Pistol Conversion Kits

When you attach your handgun to the MCK, does this make it an SBR requiring a tax stamp? There are so many differing opinions on this, all I have become is confused. I get the impression that it does indeed become an SBR. Yet, I see tons and tons of comments about people who have one. So many in fact, that I
find it hard to believe that many people shelled out $200 for a tax stamp. If anyone can clear this up for me, I would be grateful.

2 Likes

Welcome @Patrick202!

I’m not a legal expert on this topic.

I did do some research because I was originally interested in buying a kit for my Glock. Seems like you are ok with some models, but not others.

Pistol to rifle conversion does not require a tax stamp. So, if the kit’s overall length is over 26 inches then you should be ok.

For now, you can also get a kit that uses an arm brace because you’re not really changing how the firearm is designed to be fired - held in your hand.

The option to stay away from is a kit that uses a stock (folding, telescoping, or otherwise) with an overall length of less than 26 inches.

I’m sure there’s a lot of other variations to take into consideration.

4 Likes

Thank you! That info was helpful.

3 Likes

Welcome to the family brother @Patrick202 , glad you could join us. I also would like to know more on this subject.

1 Like

I believe the fact that the magazine is still inserted into the grip of the pistol keeps the mck a non nfa item…at least in that area. I’ve seen them on the wall at my lgs. Neighbor has one, I wasn’t impressed with it, had some fit issues that can be adjusted,but taking a simple platform like a Glock and complicating it isn’t for me.

3 Likes

Welcome to the family brother @Patrick202 and you are in the right place at the right time.

1 Like

Most of these conversions have braces instead of stocks which likely makes them legal (for the moment) in many places.