Leaving your carry gun in your car at work

Hello everyone I’m a new concealed carry permit holder and i do work at a restaurant that serves alcohol beverages in Illinois in lake Zurich! I’m a line cook so my question is can I leave my firearm in my car on company parking lot in between a grocery store! I would just like any suggestions I plan not to,carry inside a restaurant!

1 Like

Let’s see what the Gun Law says:

Under Illinois’ Concealed Firearm Carry Act, enacted in 2013, a person who is issued a valid concealed carry license is permitted to keep or carry a loaded or unloaded concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle. While the owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control, state law allows a person to store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area of the owner’s property and other areas where the carrying of firearms is prohibited.

That pretty clear explains everything… the most important are:

• locked vehicle
  • locked container
  • out of plain view

Even you see or in the text, I’ll suggest to apply all 3 rules. The least expensive option is - locked glove box, recommended option - car gun safe, permanently mounted.

7 Likes

IDK. Maybe “check your local listings”; With all the laws, city, county & state; They might differ from our parts.

Personally, if I’m allowed to store one in my vehicle in my job’s lot, I’d never tell my employer, friends, coworkers or even family, because my employer would find out and possibly terminate me or pass me over for a job or promotion.

Without causing any stir or suspicion, are you allowed to read the employee policies? Think of other reasons why you’d ever need to see them, because they will ask you.