How many check, rotate, and cycle their defense ammo?

My protocol for my carry/defense ammo.

1. I rotate my rounds in my magazine once a month. Set a calendar appt on my phone.

2. I check all my carry ammo with a new round that has not been in my rotation. I am studying to see if any of my carry ammo has developed cracks or even shrunk in size compared to a new ammo round. ( part of monthly maintenance)

Every Six Months, I shoot my defense rounds and start over.

10 Likes

I don’t get it. What have you found?

2 Likes

I think this is excessive, except for periodically training with defensive rounds.

6 Likes

I do look over my carry/defense rounds when taking them out of the box to load them.

I have found a total of 3 rounds of premium handgun defensive JHP over the years that were bad. One had a deformed case where the primer pocket was recessed so far the striker/firing pin could not reach it, resulting in a failure to fire. If you didn’t really look you wouldn’t notice, and it went into the mag and fed as normal, just result in a click. So, glad I was paying close attention when I put it in the mag and thought to myself ‘that’s not right’

I don’t do anything specific for rotating the ammo. I do fire my carry ammo from time to time, whenever feel like it. Ammo is tough, many cops go a year at a time with their duty ammo in their OWB gun out in the elements and weather for that full year and it’s not really a problem, so my IWB concealed ammo, I’m just not overly worried about as long as I don’t get setback from rechambering

5 Likes

I used to fire the carry ammo loaded in my firearm whenever I went to the range. Best way to test if the firearm would have been good to go if I had needed it. But with current prices and availability I have cut back on that practice.