Hellcat Pro has no mag!

Hello all. I’m wondering if any of you have experienced this.
While requalifying with my side arm, I decided to use my Hellcat Pro. During the skills portion my magazine dropped out of the well several times. I am now a pro at tactical reloads.
I just brushed it off as my support hand pressing too hard on the mag release, and dropping it.
Then this morning I got to the gun shop I work at. While speaking to one of the customers I pulled my gun to show him the gun, attempted to drop the mag. to clear the gun, and WOW… NO MAGAZINE!!! It fell out while I was getting dresses. AND the gun was it it’s level II holster. I will take the hit on that, maybe I didn’t put the magazine in with the proper force. But, I am concerned about the magazine dropping with little pressure on the release.

4 Likes

I had a new Ruger LCP2 that kept dropping its magazine when I shot it along with a couple other issues. I wasted a lot of ammo figuring out that the problem wasn’t me. Sent it back to Ruger and they replaced pretty much everything but the frame and it has worked perfectly since then.

4 Likes

Are you hearing the magazine click in?

2 Likes

I had a Glock 41 doing that. I finally figured out that it was the holster pressing the mag release button.

4 Likes

What are you using for a holster? Have you put in an extender?

2 Likes

I don’t know the OP’s personal routine. But it sounds like each day, the magazine is removed when the firearm is stored/secured.

No matter. Inserting a magazine into the handgun should be followed by a swift slap and then a simple tug on the bottom to make sure that the magazine is seated. Making sure that your sidearm is “ready for duty” is your responsibility, period.

2 Likes