Footnote to end gun control

6 Likes

Sounds great on paper, doesn’t it? What happens though, when a regime that ignores the Constitution takes power?

9 Likes

To say that becasue there were no laws restricting carrying a gun when the 2nd amendment was ratified, is to say that you can only carry guns that existed when the 2nd amendment was ratified.

2 Likes

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Just a thought, Did they exclusively mean Guns? In those days swords for self defense were pretty common.

7 Likes

I’m not a constitutional lawyer but I don’t believe that is the case. I believe what the justices were saying is that since the 2A says the right to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed you must look at the laws in place at the time to understand what the authors believed the right to keep and bear arms actually meant at that time.

There were no laws banning the right to posses or carry firearms with equal, and in many cases greater, capabilities than those in military use at that time. In fact it is clear from the writings that the founding fathers intended a well armed citizenry to have the ability to act as a check to a tyrannical government. So that is the standard that should be applied today.

If you don’t like it you are welcome to start the process to amend the constitution to either rewrite or negate the 2A. But you will also have to get 2/3 of the House and Senate to agree with you as well as 3/4 of the States.

8 Likes

I believe it is clear from their writings that they meant all arms. Arms being any and all weapons individuals and armies could use to defend themselves and their nation.

5 Likes

Support organizations that bring suit…will continue to happen past my expiration date…

5 Likes