Dash cam footage of shooting - show it to responding officers or wait for your attorney?

Should you play it safe and NOT offer to show it to them, even if you feel your case is cut and dry? Can police view it and use it as evidence without your permission?

10 Likes

Always wait for your Attorney before you talk to the Police. :zipper_mouth_face:
Second question-yes…

15 Likes

:+1:t4::+1:t4:
Keep flow of information at a minimum, just as written on the back of the USCCA card.

14 Likes

ALWAYS wait for your attorney. In general, nothing you say to the police can help you; it can only hurt you.

11 Likes

I’m not a lawyer but, I’m sure that it can be used as evidence whether you give permission or not.

If I’m in a good enough spot to be worried about my dash camera(s)’ footage, my main concern will be that the footage survives and is recovered to be used in any proceedings that may result.

I wouldn’t want, like, nobody to think about it, and a friend or family to end up driving the vehicle away/home at some point, and the car being on so long it overwrites the footage before someone realizes to get it.

Or LE gets it and then somehow someway not all of it is available or seen later, or defense doesn’t get it in time to review, or whatever weirdness.

I doubt I will show anybody anything.

I can’t say if I would point out that it exists, to whom, or when/how

6 Likes

Better make sure that your attorney is the first to see and make a copy of that footage available to the police.

12 Likes

The police aren’t your friends, do not give them anything voluntarily. If you have time, upload video to a cloud service and remove the memory card if you can and conceal it. Depending on the city involved, your dashcam may be removed or rendered usless, denying you exculpitory evidence. Don’t mention it to the police, let your lawyer do it.
The cops are there to aid the prosecution.

14 Likes

Lawyer up first!!! Period!!!

10 Likes