What do you think of Porting

When I started shooting hand guns porting wasn’t much of a thing. .22, .32, .38 and 45 long colt and 45 apc were about all we had to shoot. I took classes shooting the S&W 5 inch model 10. Most of the 45s I shot were S&W 45 long colts. Must have had a 6 inch barrel. And of course the 1911 45s were the favorite automatics.

As the years went by I got a S&W Highway patrolman in .357 and it too had a 6 inch barrel. I cruised along for quite a while with the .357 till a friend of mine bought a S&W .44 mag with a 5 inch barrel. I thought the .357 had as much muzzle lift as I could take but that .44 mag was a bruiser. It wasn’t long before our shooting club was almost over run with .44 mags from S&W, Ruger and Colt. I wasn’t ready for the kick till my friend got his Ruger Ported. To me this was a revelation and made me start thinking about .44 mags. In the meantime I went into the military and my "club days were just about over. The only handguns I had access to were 1911s.

When I got out lots of .44 were shorter than 6 inches and people were getting them ported. I even got to shoot a 454 Casull and I only saw them in ported models. Porting didn’t help me master the .454.

Now comes the question. I decided to add a .45 to my stable and I wanted to get one in the same family as my 9mm. It had to be one I could conceal carry. However the .45 has a lot more lift than my 9 so I decided to invest in a ported barrel. I have noticed it still has more flip than my 9 but not as much as the non ported .45 barrel. So far I like it and shoot it about as well as the 9. Does anyone else have an opinion on a ported automatic?

3 Likes

The only reason I wouldn’t ccw a ported gun, is the blast from the ports. If I had to use it in close quarters, like inside a vehicle, or a small room, I wouldn’t want those hot gasses in someone’s face, or my own.

3 Likes