How to get used to one in the chamber?

I am new in this world and how does someone get used to one in the chamber?

I got a gun just for my home but started to carry it and I like it… I like the feeling knowing my gun is with me… but How to get used to one in the chamber?

3 Likes

It just takes three things - training, practice, and time.

13 Likes

Lots of answers to your question here. :+1:

Should you carry with one in the chamber?

Firearm TrainingMental Training

Self-Defense

4 Likes

The best way to get used to carrying with one in the chamber is to carry with one in the chamber. If it makes you feel weird, keep doing it, and it will stop feeling weird.

If it bothers you so much that you don’t carry, then go ahead and carry with an empty chamber. Better to have a firearm nearby than to have none at all. Don’t worry about the enthusiasts who say you have to do everything the exact same way they do it.

20 Likes

This is probably the most important piece of advice any of us can give or receive. Thanks, @Ouade5.

11 Likes

@Ouade5 and @OldGnome already said it, @AZJustMe2021 , but I will toss another log on that fire.

You don’t have to “get used to one in the chamber.” You do you. Nobody can decide what the best balance of safety vs security is for you except you. Just don’t argue with folks about it. There are a whole lot of emotional security blankets in the concealed carry world, and a lot of them get very cranky when they feel their mythology is being threatened.

But here’s my direct answer to your question:

Get very, very comfortable carrying in Condition 3. The rest will work itself out in time.

8 Likes

AZ - Your gun and your holster may contribute to your comfort level.