Woman dies of heart attack after attempted break-in

2 Likes

I dont understand the charge - did the guy break into the house involuntarily???
And $2500 bond…wow, when someone died from home invasion, just wow.

3 Likes

The charge is probably because attempting to break into a home in itself doesn’t necessarily have an intent to kill.

" Involuntary manslaughter is defined as an unintentional killing that results either from recklessness or criminal negligence or from the commission of a low-level criminal act such as a misdemeanor. Involuntary manslaughter is distinguished from other forms of homicide because it does not require deliberation or premeditation, or even intent. Since these mental states are not required, involuntary manslaughter is the lowest category of homicide."

2 Likes

Home invasion is not a misdemeanor crime. Involuntary charge is an outrage.

1 Like

That definition isn’t what every state will use, and it does say “or” + “such as a misdemeanor”. I’m no lawyer but my reading of that does not say that involuntary manslaughter only comes from misdemeanors.

Also, I think it says “attempted” break in, which wouldn’t seem to be a home invasion since it was only attempted and not successful

Based on my (non lawyer) understanding of laws, I don’t see how a higher homicide charge could go anywhere with, seemingly based on that story, zero intent to kill

2 Likes

I didn’t read the article, but why not felony murder?

2 Likes

The article just stated the charge. I guess the DA thinks the jury wont convict on a higher charge. Did he enter the house? No, he was too high to break through. The woman died? Well, it happens, she must have been too fragile.
So the boy walks after paying $250, 10% of the bond.

3 Likes