What card I need for Security Guard?

I work as a security guard; my question is do I need a regular license to transport weapons? Or do I need another type of license?

Thank you, community, attentive to your answers.

3 Likes

@Nicolas8 Welcome to our community, we are glad to have you. :slightly_smiling_face:
Your employer should have that answer. :thinking:
You would need a CC Permit to transport a pistol openly to and from work and follow your States laws on transporting each type (rifle, pistol or shotgun) once you are on their property it’s up to your employer. BTW what state are you in.

4 Likes

What state?

What does your employer say?

What weapons?

5 Likes

In illinois, you would need a PERC card and a license through the Illinois Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, and of course a FOID card…

4 Likes

California

1 Like

-California
-My employer says that I can use my weapon without problems, as long as the people who want to enter the private compound are inside or trying to enter the property.
-Glock 23 gen3

1 Like

Welcome to the family brother @Nicolas8 and glad to have you here. FYI I worked armed security in the state of VA and all we needed was an endorsement from the DCJS in VA. We didn’t need any type of card to transport weapons. But every state is different. The state of CA is strict so I would definitely do my own research, just ask questions and follow the state laws.

3 Likes

Welcome

2 Likes

Thank you!!

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer and CA laws are very tricky so I recommend doing your own research or better yet asking a lawyer.