Things to look for in used rifle?

So I almost bought a used 10/22 today. The seller told me that it has just been sitting on the shelf at a gun shop for a long time (I’m weary of guns that have been sitting for a long time). It was a really cool set up. It had a pistol grip and a stock that held two spare mags that come with the rifle. The receiver looked in good shape. There was some ware on the stock. I could tell it was an after market stock. There was rust on the sling mounts. I wasn’t sure if their was rust on parts I couldn’t see like in the barrel.

I really liked it, but I backed out because my gut told me too. What do y’all look for in a used rifle?

2 Likes

I’m not an expert ok. I would not be afraid of rust being on the sling mounts. Your outside rust is usually do to touching it without wiping it off with oil.

When I’m looking at a used rifle. First thing I do is rack the chamber a few times and listen and feel for grinding. Look at the Inside parts you can see. Are they oil wet (shinny like oil has-been there)? Or are the metal dry (dull looking as in dry)? If it is dull looking, then be cautious. Rust could have built-up if oil wasn’t applied before the years of it sitting on a shelf.

Also take a whiff inside the chamber. If it smells musty or like mildew then walk away. Can almost guaranteed rust at that point.

I put my Marlin model 60 away in a gun cabinet 10 years. I oiled it before doing so. When I finally got it back out, there was still a shinny look to it. So I put some oil in it and started shooting. Everything was all good.

This is just my opinion and how I decide if I should buy a used rifle or not.

3 Likes