That’s Why I Carry (on Monday Afternoon)

So, I headed into my local convenience store this afternoon around 4PM. As usual, I was carrying, although my family gives me grief about it because our town is in the suburbs and “so safe”. When I am checking out, a guy walks in. He is a tall guy, really unkempt, and a bit “sketchy” IMHO. A few seconds later, a woman walks in, shouting expletives, demanding that he gives her the car keys. She continued to make a scene, threaten him, and tried to grab at him a few times. He deflected her, but was not aggressive towards her. Both of them did not not look right. Probably meth (but I’m no expert). She ended up walking away into the store. He stood by the counter, but my gut feeling was that he was up to no good.
At that point, I completed my transaction and left. I thought about hanging around , but figured it was a bad idea, since I had no indication that there was any immediate threat to anyones life, and I am not LE. Also, the store was very crowded.
Had I been out late night, I may have expected this type of scenario. Just took me a bit by surprise on Monday afternoon. But it definitely got my “situational awareness “ wheels turning…
Any thoughts?

13 Likes

The first things, being alert and a good witness of the happenings is what it’s about.

14 Likes

“Chance favors the prepared mind.”
Good call on being aware of your surroundings. Becoming a victim has no scheduled time of the day, night, weekday, or weekend. You never know if or when a ne’er-do-well is going to pick you as a potential victim. Stay armed, stay aware, and stay focused. The one time you don’t may be the one time you and/or your family (hopefully) live to regret.

7 Likes

Whether at a convenience store or someone’s house (or anywhere), interjecting yourself into an evolving domestic disturbance seldom ends well.

18 Likes

You can end up in dicey situations in any neighborhood. Could be drugs, mental health, domestic situations, or just plain no-goods.