Texas Castle Doctrine - How far does it extend?

Obviously it applies to your vehicle and primary home, but how far does it go from there?

EDIT: Assuming an individual does not have an LTC

1. Does it go to your hotel room or home that you rent from another individual?
  2. Does it go to land that you lease and are camping on?
  3. Does it extend a campsite a friend let’s you camp on?

I’m sure there is no crystal clear answer here, but where (if any) are clear lines in the sand?

What can be considered “your occupied habitation?”

3 Likes

Welcome to the family @Steve109. If you have your ltc, you can carry to all these places unless posted with a 30.06 and/or 30.07 sign (relative to how you are carrying). Otherwise, it is my understanding that Castle doctrine applies to your house and all attached structures and your vehicle. Castle doctrine doesn’t apply to detached structures such as a detached garage or sheds. I’m not sure on leases and hotels… I’m no lawyer, and even though @MikeBKY practices law in Kentucky, he MAY be able to help. Also @TexasEskimo or @Fizbin might know better than me.

3 Likes

Thanks Levl2, understood, and yes (should have clarified) my question is running on an assumption the individual does not have an LTC…

2 Likes

From reading, it is also worth noting, Castle doctrine applies while in your vehicle. Once you leave the vehicle, Castle doctrine goes out the window…so to speak. For example, if under the Castle doctrine, you are defending your vehicle from theft or removal of you from your vehicle, you are ok. You can’t leave your vehicle to engage a target in a parking lot, etc.

2 Likes

@Steve109 These replies assume no LTC required. Simply Texas firearm laws…

Yes… it applies to a hotel/motel. Though I would refrain from open carry.

Yes… It does allow on land leases and campsites. Unless a written lease specifically states no firearms.