Railroad legality

Is it legal to open carry on railroad property?
Yes, I understand that this is a bit out of the normal questions you receive, but here we are.
I drive for a living. I find myself as far as 600 miles from home on a regular basis. I run a fueling concept that almost always guaranties that I have enough fuel so I can make a U-Turn and drive home without needing to stop in the event of a major situation . BUT, there is a less likely, but still possible situation where the truck is disabled along with most other vehicles and I would be tasked with the unpleasant mission of hiking 600 miles to get home. This is no small task and thus I have done extensive planning as well as physical conditioning with my gear. My plan involves using rail ways and high-power transmission line routes so as to keep off the most populated paths. I would have a 9mm pistol as well as my 16” 5.56 on me. While it is unlikely that I would be on anyones radar in that extreme situation , I would still like to know the laws just incase. I can find no info on firearms laws on railroad property. I understand it to be private property of the state, but I can talk through that with an officer. The states I am dealing with are Iowa, N. Dakota, S. Dakota, and possibly Minnesota. I am licensed in Iowa and Minnesota. Minnesota could be cut out of the equation if I must, though it would add 4 more days to the journey. I need to finalize my plan so I can give copies to those who need it so I thank you if you can help with this final piece of information.

6 Likes

Good luck on your endeavor. I never heard of any law about carrying guns on private state property. As long as you are permitted to carry in those states and obeying the laws. I’ve heard it was illegal to carry in some state buildings.

4 Likes

@Jeremy3 Welcome to our community, we are glad to have you. :slightly_smiling_face:
I could find nothing on a search. I would think if you were walking home in the scenario