Pepper Spray for "Stuff" Defense

One of the first things I learned on this forum is carrying a firearm is for “Self” Defense, not “Stuff” Defense. We have discussed scenarios like you can’t legally shoot somebody that is stealing your unoccupied car out of your driveway unless the thief is actively threatening or actually using lethal or serious bodily injury to you or others.

However, I have not read anything I can recall related to using non-lethal force like pepper spray to protect your stuff like your unoccupied car or boat parked in your driveway.

So, the question is, what can you legally do to protect your “stuff” other than telling them to leave your stuff alone and calling the police to file a report? Can I legally knock them on the ground and restrain them while I wait for the Police? Can I legally Pepper Spray them to make them go away? I live in Florida if that makes any difference.

3 Likes

I’m not a lawyer, but that just seems to be an unnecessary risk to take. If doing so ended up causing you to use lethal force, it seems you could potentially be seen as the initial aggressor. The potential burglar could probably file assault charges against YOU if he isn’t far enough into the act to prove his intent of burglary.

There’s just too much risk for me to try and protect my belongings.

4 Likes

Let’s make it more interesting, assume I can only afford liability and PIP insurance. Therefore I have no replacement insurance if my car is stolen and don’t have financial means to replace it. Makes the decision a little tougher doesn’t it?

2 Likes

He/she has already trespassed onto my property.

4 Likes

That was my thought, right now the loss of my vehicle would be a catastrophic loss for me and in a way cause great harm. Just me but I would protect it.

4 Likes