So if I don’t want to renew a CPL, it’s an automatic 5 years? I don’t live in Michigan, I live in Ohio, but it’s close to home. But seriously.
MI law at that time of that hearing had a maximum 5 year imprisonment penalty (which was rarely enforced), so she was advocating the law not be changed. That only applied if you were carrying with an expired license. If you did not want to renew because you stopped carrying, then it would not have applied.
Michigan HB4434 was passed and renewing after expiration is now only a fine for the first offence and a misdemeanor for a 2nd offense, if renewed within a year.