Incomplete training

I was an armed security officer in North Carolina. The one regret I have is that my training did not extend to “what to do when the bad guy complies.” I stopped a robbery at the bank where I was standing post. I did a couple things wrong (looking back). Better training on detaining a culprit would have helped.

3 Likes

Welcome to the gathering @Ward1. Hopefully, you are finding good information in the library USCCA has here. The maintenance of the control you fought to achieve in the scenario suggested is not nearly as explored in-depth as getting there seems to be.

What lessons did you find important immediately after you neutralized the threat the bad guy created? And then, you needed to continue to manage the scene until law enforcement personnel arrived? What happened that helped or made things worse? What would you suggest and recommend based upon your experience?

Managing the situation until the police arrived was easy, once I resumed doing the right things. When I first challenged the culprit I should have: 1) made him show me his hands and 2) get on his knees with ankles crossed and fingers laced behind his head. Not doing these things made the process more hazardous, even if I had the drop on him. It was also more hazardous for the officer who cuffed him. Now I know, but I should have had that training.
Despite this lack, I received EXCELLENT training from a former SEAL. For this reason, an armed security officer should be referred to as OFFICER because of the extensive training we receive.

@Ward1

Kudo’s on your professionalism and wanting to find more training. I’m going to tag another security officer here.

@Spence

He is a security officer as well and a professional as well. He may very well know of some great resources.

There may not be a lot of book training or videos, but there is a tremendous amount of Institutional knowledge here. Good luck going forward.