Fake LEO

Hi, team, thank you in advance for your help, please bear with me, I’m pretty new to all this and there are many things that are overwhelming (most of them unnecessarily IMHO)

Suppose a group of would-be home invaders kick down your front door at 2AM while you’re sleeping, suppose they enter while screaming “FBI, Hands up!” or whatever they scream (a.l.a Roger Stone) Suppose they take the impersonation even further and wear some sort of make-believe uniforms (remember it’s 2AM and you don’t have a lot of time to verify) OK, what am I suppose to do? I don’t have any issues with the authorities, but in modern America you know that doesn’t mean the REAL FBI won’t come kicking down your door because you’ve posted something on Social Media, or some friend of yours did… Am I supposed to let any “authority” enter my home without resisting? If my position is defending myself when ANYBODY kicks down my door, what about the real LE kicking down my door? I will definitely lose the fight with them on every front… Please, advise.

Thank you very much for your time :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Fortunately this is a very unlikely scenario for any of us to face. But it does show the dangers that no knock warrants create for citizens and LEOs. In my opinion no knock warrants should be banned except in cases with clear evidence of imminent terrorist attacks or similar.

As a law abiding citizen I would likely assume that an armed gang bursting through my door are criminals intent on harming me and my family. I am very likely to try and defend my family regardless of what they are shouting or wearing.

If they are LEOs and smart enough to knock on my door, show me a warrant and wait long enough for me to call 911 and confirm their identity then we can let the lawyers do the fighting and no one’s lives have to be put in danger.

12 Likes

That’s true, but unfortunately, that’s not what we’re seeing lately… Let’s just hope we don’t have to cope with it…

Thanks!!

2 Likes