Ergonomic metrics Revolvers

Subject: Seeking A revolver suitable for concealed carry and low trigger pull and low weight.

Specifically I’m concerned with recoil and a lower caliber for concealed carry see my note below.

Situation: I’m a disabled veteran with damage to my hands/arthritis/loss of strength. The additionally, I cannot tolerate the amount of recoil from a 45, so large calibers out.

I need comparative metrics to make revolver selections.

I’m seeking a revolver with lightweight and the caliber of 22/32/38. I need multiple copies.

Seeking A revolver suitable for concealed carry and low trigger pull and low weight.

Additionally, I would like your thoughts in a caliber. Are there are other revolvers you can recommend? Are their specific ammo loads recommended?

2 Likes

The Smith&Wesson M&P series make the 38 special air weights in several models.

@Dan51 welcome aboard! Did 24 in the Navy brother.

You have a fairly extensive list of limitations. To that end I would be looking at mid size revolvers that will provide you a “hand filling experience” which will compensate to some degree for your loss of hand strength. As far as revolvers go I am fond of the Ruger Security or speed Six or even a GP-1000 as a mid size hand filling revolver.

I have never taken a shine to S&W as I always thought there was too much going on inside. Colt’s are a bit spendy.

The problem with low weight is that the recoil becomes unbearable. It is better to have a heavier gun that fills your hand and allows you to use arm strength in CONJUNCTION with your hands. Trigger pull obviously can be adjusted from heavy to nothing. Trigger Shoes, (I think they still make them) can be added to multiply trigger finger pressure across a wider plane.