Ear muffs and home defense

Tactics aside.

You are put in a position and use your firearm in a home defense situation and you put on electronic or digital(I’ve heard them referred to as both) ear muffs as you grabbed your firearm to address the situation.

Would wearing earmuffs affect anything from a legal standpoint?

Great question. I’m not a lawyer. My 2 cents is this: Anything and everything can hurt your defense if the prosecutor is zealous enough, and some are.

Can you articulate why and how you put on your ear muffs? Meaning can your lawyer explain why you would stage these as part of your home defense plan?

My advise would be to ask your criminal defense attorney about this. If you dont have a criminal defense attorney on speed dial, you need to get one. Interview 2 or 3 in your area and pick the one you trust and get along with the best. Sure, you could call USCCA and they’ll send a competent attorney, but I look at it like this… after a self defense situation, you wont be looking for the best criminal defense attorney, you’ll be looking for the first.

Simply ask your attorney, “will this scenario make your job harder or easier?”

I was sent videos to watch in preperation for a training course, and it was mentioned having them staged next to your home defense weapon. I’ve never given it much thought but it wouldn’t be difficult at all. The ones I use actually amplify sound so I would hear better with them on.

I am just curious on peoples thoughts and opinions on it. Never hurts to hear different thought processes and opinions.

1 Like

It was a rhetorical question. A question your lawyer would NEED to answer for you should a prosecutor make an issue of it.

I too started with the premise that ‘just’ earmuffs attenuating the sonic crack of any ammunition - that I may, or which a home invader fires - is a good thing. You don’t have nearly the delay for recovery of even marginal hearing and the physiologic “ring” would not be an issue at all.