Company policy on search and seizures!

So I’m an assistant store manager at a gas station. I’ve been here for almost 4 years now and I’ve been robbed 3 times.

Apparently we have a see something say something policy, and learned that if we have reasonable suspicion that an employee has something that’s not allowed on company property that we’re supposed to search and confiscate whatever it is and supposedly take pictures.

Now obviously USCCA is about firearm and firearm safety.

Now let’s say a trainee or a coworker brought a bag that I would believe is carrying a firearm, or let’s say the employee is carrying and I believe they’re carrying because of the print. Our company policy is if we see something, we say something cause if we don’t we’re just as guilty and face possible demotion or termination for not enforcing company policy.

So my question would be when do we cross the line on searches, cause we can also have our vehicles searched for weapons. What would happen if I went to search someone’s bag and happen to find a loaded gun with no holster and somehow negligently discharged it? What if the worker has it on their person even though they might have their CHL and by company policy I need to conduct a search, then I’m in a bad spot where I’m searching somebody who might have a gun, and idk how much experience they have with guns, and it might be a gun I’m not familiar with and know how to operate, PLUS if I was to carry on the job with my 43, I wouldn’t be very comfortable with my other assistant store manager or even my manager who have very little gun experience to preform a search on me and risk the possible chance of a negligent discharge.

This is food for thought and these are some issues I’m wondering about right now.

2 Likes

“Concealed” means concealed.

5 Likes

Yes concealed means concealed but that isn’t the question.

2 Likes

That’s the answer.

If you and he have concealed carry permits, why bother?

3 Likes