Can airlines be trusted?

Airlines are notorious for loosing everything, from people to pets and misplaced luggage. How can I trust an airline to get my firearms and me to the correct locations at the same time? Is there a true chain of custody and how do you resolve a lost or misplaced firearms by airlines? What laws hold them accountable?

4 Likes

Lots of questions here and I’m not a lawyer to begin with, but: an airline is a common carrier, and as soon as they take on a declared, locked, unloaded firearm in checked baggage, they’re legally responsible for it until such time as you claim it. Neither they nor the TSA have the key to the locked container that you pack into checked baggage. Now, that means that if they send one of their baggage handlers to wander through the length and breadth of IAD with your bag instead of delivering it directly to the security office and holding it there for you (as happened to me recently), they could be in a whole lot of trouble if someone steals the bag while it’s in their custody.

Notionally.

Supposed to be, anyway.

Another little gotcha is that if your flight from one of the United States to another is diverted and you end up landing in, say New York, and the airline puts you up for the night - do not claim your bag until you have landed back in the United States, unless you know for a fact that it’s legal to possess there. Have the airline hold onto it as a common carrier, then fly out the next day to your destination and take possession there. If you retrieve your checked bag, you are now in possession of a prohibited firearm and do not have constitutional protections there like you would in the US. The airline, on the other hand, does.

2 Likes

If I EVER have to land or be diverted to a communist state, I will jump, with or without a parachute! I will NEVER step foot in a communist state without a belt fed weapon!

2 Likes