Bow knowledge

Ok, here is the deal. I found and old fiberglass bow in a barn. Can you tell me what it is and if it’s worth anything. It’s got a red or orange color to it. It’s about 48 inches long, but that’s a straight measure from end to end.

3 Likes

I think sitting bull use to use it, I’m not an expert on bows, so I guess I’m no help.

9 Likes

Just an old Fiberglass Bow from the 70s. I see them at the Flea Market for $5.00 to $30.00 their worth about $5.00. Be careful pulling it back old fiberglass can shatter. :+1:

10 Likes

I will admit this though. I couldn’t hit a barn with a bow if I was standing in the loft.

2 Likes

Best & safest thing is not to use it. Too many things could go wrong. Use it as a wall hanger in the barn.
Stay safe….

I just bought a fairly fancy used compound bow for my son for his birthday. Bows have come a long way (and gotten a lot more expensive) since the last time I shot one when I was in high school.

Look for markings on it - make, model, and draw weight (Ex.: 30# @ 28") - these were sold separately, or in kits for kids and beginners. Unstring it to stay safe. There ARE people who collect old archery gear - some Bear, Ben Pearson, etc. manufactured bows are valuable. Some handcrafted bows - like Jack Howard’s “Game Master” and “Game Master Jet” - can be worth serious $$, Even old arrows and broadheads. FYI

Been playing around with horse bows recently… the Katra thing is kinda strange…

you can shoot from the outside of the bow… (right side if your right handed)

there is no cut out like on many western bows both side of the bow are the same…

think you need to do something similar when using the inside or left side of the bow with no cutout?

but ya gotta sorta flip the bow to the left as you release the arrow???