Apartment self defense

Good Evening everyone. I live in PA and will be moving into an apartment complex. My question is even though PA has a stand your ground law, god forbid i ever had to defend myself in the apartment or on the grounds and I am found not guilty can the apartment evict me either during the investigation or after if found innocent? I highly doubt a situation will ever arise as its a pretty decent complex and very family oriented but you never know.

2 Likes

I’m no lawyer but I’d say “not very likely”. In order to be thrown out of the complex you’d have to violate some rule in your lease contract.

Personally, I’d not let it bother me either way. If I’m in a life or death fight I would never consider eviction at all.

4 Likes

I agree with @WildRose if my or my loved one’s life is on the line being evicted will be the last thing on my mind.

4 Likes

Richard I would really take @WildRose and @Lacy @45IPAC and don’t worry about things like that. If it comes up I think eviction is a process I do not think it’s an overnight thing and that is something to inform your USCCA Attorney about immediately with no delay so they can stop something such as this.

1 Like

In NC an eviction takes at least 30 days. The person being evicted can appeal it twice. In doing such the person being evicted can delay the process by up to 3 months. Most here don’t because they cannot afford the cost to do an appeal.

2 Likes

In some states like California it can take an eternity. In Texas it can take as little as 32 days.

It really all depends on your rental/lease contract.

Recent court rulings have have clarified that your Second Amendment rights are still fully in place even in rentals and here in Texas we’ve added very specific language to protect carry as well.

2 Likes