Ammo in the classroom?

Thoughts?

I’ll follow up with my reply. Just interested in your opinions.

3 Likes

As a general rule in a non-firing class (e.g. classroom only) as you mention above, I would say no ammo in the classroom, keep your loaded concealed weapon in your vehicle (instead open carry your really cool 1911 with no magazine, no ammo, slide lock open…because it’s a 1911 and needs to be shown :grin:)

I can’t think of a time when that would change, but I’m relatively new to instructing (co-facilitating) so I don’t know of all the scenarios where it might come up. For classes where you’re practicing draws and/or racking and/or weapon retention, classes I’ve attended have always used safe gun indicator inserts.

Interested to hear what others say. At least he was consistent about clearing his weapon and showing safe first.

4 Likes

Where I teach we don’t allow live ammo in the classroom. We have people who are armed outside of the classroom in the main area of the range in case of issues.

I know where there is a loaded firearm I can quickly access at all times, but it is not in the classroom.

There are too much administrative firearm handling during one of those classes to have live ammo in the classroom.

On the range, I’m good with instructors having firearms on them.

7 Likes

My fire-arm instructor did that same thing…

Cleared it and allowed the people on the front row to examine the chamber.
They also did not allow ammo in the class and I’m not sure holstered guns because I DID NOT see anybody else with one holstered on their side except me, but wasn’t told not too.

I think in class environments this is a smart rule because accidents do happen…

3 Likes

I’ve heard of some of the BEST instructors having negligent discharges in the classroom. Can’t have an ND if there’s no ammo. :wink:

6 Likes

Exactly dawn.

Be as careful as you want, but if there is zero ammo, there is zero chance of ND.

2 Likes