AL permit in MS

So my daughter is 18. In alabama we can get our permit at age 18.

In MS you must be 21 to get your permit.

MS honors AL permits (we have reciprocity).

I’ve tried calling MS AG office (never spoke to anyone other than the incoming call secretary), MS State Trooper Office (Pearl and Jackson areas) and they send me to the drivers license dept and they never even answer.

Who can I call to get and answer to the question of: is she legal in MS with her AL permit?

Where does that leave my daughter?

1 Like

I’m no lawyer, but even with reciprocity that leaves her in AL.
The law of the reciprocal state takes precedence over, what you would consider, the home state advantage.

The issuing agency, who ever that might be! I wouldn’t count on phoning, in person or online!

I have a similar situation, my permit allows me to carry any weapon including a firearm, however in the reciprocating state of GA, if I’m found with a concealed knife in my pocket, I’m doomed!
GA only recognizes the concealment of a firearm. My bad, I dug a little deeper and found that GA upgraded their laws. You may now carry that knife concealed with a reciprocal state license.
Back in 2009 that was not possible.

1 Like

MS does not address minimum age for permitless concealed carry by anyone who can legally possess a firearm.

To add: I am not a lawyer, I don’t interpret the law ,and this is not legal advice.

It is possible that the law makers didn’t think about this and didn’t realize they weren’t putting a minimum age and nobody honestly even knows what the law they passed means or how it works (that happens…a lot). It’s also possible that it was intentional and 18+ is the age required to legally possess a firearm? IDK.

It looks good given what I copied and pasted above but, as I’m not a lawyer I can’t be completely sure

1 Like

Would you mind sharing the GA state statute that makes a concealed knife illegal without a permit?

1 Like